Professor Andrew Neely

Associate Dean (Research Engagement)

Professor Neely is the Associate Dean (Research Engagement) at UNSW Canberra. He is also a Professor in the School of Engineering and Information Technology at UNSW Canberra where he was the Deputy Head of School (Research) from 2014-2017.

After graduating with a MEngSc and PhD in hypersonics from the University of Queensland, Andrew spent almost eight years at the University of Oxford in the Rolls-Royce funded Osney Thermofluids Laboratory working on a number of industrial jet engine projects as well as teaching.

He returned to Australia in 2002 to take up a faculty position at UNSW Canberra where he leads a research group developing experimental and numerical techniques to model and measure the interactions between the flow-field aerothermodynamics and the thermal-structural response of high-speed flight vehicles and propulsion systems. Work in this area is critical to ensuring the robust and efficient design of future vehicles. His group works with a range of Australian and international collaborators on a number of projects including the large ESA led HEXAFLY-INT hypersonic flight-test program.

Andrew sits on international technical committees for the Royal Aeronautical Society (RAeS), the American Institute of Aeronautics & Astronautics (AIAA) and the Institute of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE) as well as serving as the Australian board member of the International Society of Air Breathing Engines (ISABE). He is currently the President of the Australian Division of the RAeS and the Vice President of ISABE. He is the Chair of ISABE2019 conference to be held in Canberra.

In recent years he has also branched out into biomedical research by adapting the thermal-structural modelling techniques used in his aerospace research to the equally demanding, though very different, area of the biomechanics of nerve tissue.

Andrew has a passion for STEM outreach and leads the Cool Aeronautics program in Australia for the RAeS, in conjunction with the AIAA and UNSW.